Anyone working in an industry deemed hazardous must complete specialized training before accepting a position. The training is designed to protect the individual and the community, since these materials are dangerous and pose a risk to the community.

There are various types of training that a person may complete.  The type of training that is needed varies according to the exact job the individual performs. Some of the types of hazmat training that teach proper use of hazardous materials to reduce risks include:

Hazmat Awareness

Hazmat Awareness is the first level of training that teaches the individual how to recognize various types of Hazmat emergencies and the proper ways to notify professionals. Emergency response workers require this type of hazmat training, but other organizations need it as well. 

hazmat training

Hazmat Operations

Hazmat Operations is the next level of training that is available. This training focuses on proper techniques that protect the ecosystems.  People who earn this special training are usually those who work as first responders.

Hazmat Technician

To become a hazmat technician, there are three levels of certification the person must receive. Those who earn the certification can mitigate hazardous material emergency. People who work in rescue fields and in contamination industries need this training.

Hazmat Incident Commanders

The Hazmat Incident Commanders training is the last type of training that is available. This training focuses on logistics involved in coordinating hazardous material response efforts. The person who earns this certification may or may not also need to be certified as a Hazmat technician, depending on the regulations of the state and the company.

Special training is sometimes needed for the safety, protection, and well-being of the community and thankfully, the training is available. Hazmat is a special training that helps keep everyone safe in the event of an emergency with dangerous chemicals and products.